Personal · Uncategorized

Getting Fit at Home!

Hey friends! A few months ago I posted about my fitness journey.  In this post, I want to update you all with where I am at now, almost 6 months postpartum, and encourage everyone that it is possible to get fit without a gym membership!

I believe that in order to become fit, you just have to start. Some people think you need to go to the gym or attend classes in order to get in shape. People may prefer the motivation and direction of a class, but these are not required. If you do not have the money to pay for a gym membership, you can get in shape on your own! You just need to find your why for wanting to get in shape and motivate yourself.

What have I been doing?

For the past month I have been doing a program called StrongHer. This program was started by a friend I met in college who is now a personal trainer with a large following on Instagram! You can find her on Instagram under the handle @torielinfitness and you can learn more about her program by clicking here

I’ve followed Torie on Instagram for a long time, and was excited to finally sign up for one of her challenges. She does the challenges monthly and has beginner, intermediate and advanced levels. All of the workouts she provides are awesome and can be done at home in under an hour. Most of the workouts only take 20-30 mins total! You are also part of a Facebook group which provides lots of great info and encouragement during the 3 weeks! I strongly recommend this challenge and am also signing up to do the August challenge, which starts on August 7th. (P.S. This is not a sponsored post- I really am just a huge fan after my first challenge!) 

Alright, so first I want to show you guys some progress pics! These are not just from the July challenge, but what I’ve accomplished in almost 4 months.

 The left photos were taken on April 3rd, when I was 2 months postpartum and the right photos were taken on July 28th! 

I am feeling very good about my progress. These past few weeks doing the workouts from the StrongHer Challenge have made me feel much stronger! I am able to a lot more regular push-ups now before I have to go down to my knees. I have also been eating mostly healthy. I like the 80/20 rule. I am not good at completely restricting myself of certain foods. I also use Arbonne pomegranate fizz sticks as a pre-workout, drink Arbonne vegan chocolate protein shakes

When do I workout?

I usually do my workout in the morning when Eli goes down for his first nap, or during his afternoon nap if I’m busy in the morning. Some days I don’t get the workout done until after Eli is down for bed. On days my husband is off work, I still usually do my workout during Eli’s first nap, but I have extra time when Eli wakes up from his nap because Aaron can get him!

What do I use for at-home workouts?

 


Pretty much everything I use is from Target! I am LOVING my Champion sports bras from Target. Being a nursing mama, my boobs are not the size they used to be and I only fit into 2 of the bras that I already had. I haven’t wanted to order anything online, because I wanted to be able to try the bras on and see if they would fit. The Champion brand bras fit me super well and are great for running and HIIT workouts. They also only cost around $20, which is a major bonus! 

Right now I have 3 sets of dumbbells: 3 lbs, 6 lbs, and 10 lbs. The 10’s are my newest ones because the 6# are not challenging enough anymore – YAY! I also bought the 12# kettlebell, jump rope, foam roller and exercise mat from Target. The mat is amazing. It’s very thick, unlike a yoga mat, so it’s really comfortable for laying down exercises or moves that involve being on your knees.

The shoes are the only things not from Target. The Nikes pictured are SUPER old, but work well for cross training workouts. They are the Nike Free style. Click here to view the current styles. They are BEAUTIFUL. The shoes in the bottom right corner are Brooks Ghost 8’s. These are the shoes I wear for walking and running. Brooks are the only running shoes I buy – once you go Brooks, you never go back! 😀 

Workout at home
I want you to encourage you to just start. Start by walking every day. Start by drinking one less soda or fancy sugar-loaded coffee drink. Every little choice that you make will add up and it will become easier for you to make healthier choices.

Start feeding yourself positive messages. Tell yourself you are strong, beautiful and capable. Stop comparing yourself and love yourself where you are, but work to become the best version of yourself. Health and fitness should be about becoming stronger and nourishing your body with foods that help it to work better, not about trying to look like a model in a magazine! (They’re all photo-shopped anyhow!)

** I hope this post encourages you. Let me know if you have any questions in the comments! **

 

Leave a Reply

