Personal

Let’s talk about prayer

Prayer is an area in my life that I could always work on. I am someone who multi-tasks as I pray. I usually pray while I’m taking a shower, while I’m driving to or from work, or while I’m exercising. My husband and I pray before most meals and sometimes I spend time praying in bed before I fall asleep.

I think these are all great times to pray and that we should actively communicate with God throughout the day. If our relationship with God is the most important one in our life, then we should be in constant conversation with Him. Sometimes I fail majorly in this area and get so distracted by everything around me.

I have a lot of close friends going through some difficult journeys right now. They are at the top of my prayer list. But it’s also important take on a posture of gratitude in prayer, and not only pray when we want something from God. Yes, we should pray for healing, restoration, understanding in confusion, and peace, but we should not leave out thankfulness. We should start our day acknowledging that we are alive and breathing because God has blessed us with another day on Earth. “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”  James 1:17

I think some people don’t realize how easy praying can be. Working with the youth at my church, there are many who admit that they never pray. I think they have this idea that you have to be perfect to pray, or that you can only pray at church. The more you pray, the more comfortable it becomes. Prayer is really just a way of communicating with God. Yes, you can pray down on your knees, silently. Or you can cry out to God in the midst of your pain. But if you are believing that God doesn’t want to hear from you because your life is a mess, stop believing this lie! God wants to hear from you. You are His child… his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus. Don’t let fear hold you back.

 

b1bec95e2d0afe07bb1cc4b8206a1c86

 

Leave a Reply

